Thingggs(.com)

Blogging about so many different thingggs!

The Fat Tax August 22, 2008

Filed under: Articles,Health — thingggs @ 10:26 pm
Tags: ,

An article on the Yahoo! homepage caught my attention.  It’s about companies that charge employees for being fat.  Here’s a link to read the article: http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080822/ap_on_bi_ge/obesity_penalty (Yahoo!)

Years ago, I worked for U-Haul.  I’ve known that U-Haul charges their employees a fat tax.  They’ve been doing that for a while already.  So I searched to find out if anyone has blogged about it much, here’s what I found: http://www.bigfatblog.com/clarian-health-others-will-dock-your-paycheck-if-youre-fat (Big Fat Blog)

This is not a new idea.  But maybe it’s finally starting to catch on.  I don’t think this is fair, but I’m sure many others out there don’t agree with me.  A person should not be penalized financially for being heavy.  Maybe put a more positive spin on things and encourage or reward those who maintain a healthy weight?

 

Leave a Reply

